Celebrating Five Wonderful Years!

9 Nov

Happy 5th Birthday Firefox! Over the last few days I’ve been struggling to distill what this awesome milestone means to me into a single post (Mitchell Baker and Chris Blizzard have some great thoughts).  I started working on a top 10 list, but last night as I started to see early pictures come in from Rome it was completely clear.  The community that has sprung around Mozilla and Firefox is hands down the most meaningful and absolutely incredible aspect of this anniversary.

One of my favorite Firefox Flicks “The Briefcase Syndicate” and the new Firefox video really illustrate the amazing power of our community.  We’re all part of a global network, connected by a shared passion and working together to better everyone’s Web experience.   It makes me a little weepy-eyed when I think about what we’ve been able to accomplish together and frankly, have fun while we’re doing it.  Chris Hofmann says it best:  I LOVE this community!

I won’t get all maudlin on you.  I’ll just close with a snapshot of the wonderfulness that has gone on in less than 24 hours…here’s to “Lighting the World with Firefox!”:

Happy B-day Firefox by lucerosama, The Phillipines

Firefox on the Roman Colesium - need I say more?

Gorjan Jovanovski blankets Skopje, Macedonia with billboards

Firefox + Traffic lights in Zulia, Venezuela courtesy of Alexander Salas

Abhinav Kishore's laptop in India...how did he do this??

cake

Firefox Cake in Sofia, Bulgaria designed by Bogo Shopov

Leave a Reply

