Technology in the wedding place

20 Aug

Melissa Shapiro did a great write up on how she used Firefox to plan her wedding, but I wanted to take a look at the fun ways we incorporated technology on wedding day.

Move over disposable cameras!

We bought three Flip video cameras for people to have fun with and hopefully capture the ceremony and some of the toasts.  This sounded more “us.”  The only downside to this DIY approach is that we still have to shift through all the video ourselves and hone our editing skills.  However, I think our friends were thankful to not have a camera shoved in their faces asking for advice or best wishes for the bride and groom.

Crowdsourcing

Our friend Pat offered to crowdsource photos from our guests and stream them in realtime at the wedding.  I’d done the alpha version (if you could even call it that) at Mozilla’s 2007 OSCON party, but it meant me handing over my media card to JustDave every ten minutes.  Pat’s EventPod setup provided guests with WiFi-enabled media cards.  During the toasts it was pretty surreal to see photos appear on the screen as they were being taken from different perspectives.  The best thing about it all was that Pat aggregated all these photos for us!

My very own geek squad

My very own geek squad

Photo Booth 2.0

We had a photo booth at the SF Mozilla Anniversary party and it was a ton of fun.  I knew I wanted one at my wedding — this was probably the only thing I was particular about.  I went with Jeff Lim of Big Screen Photo — while his booth wasn’t old school it had an open setup so we could check out some of the antics.  I also got a cd with all the photos and a pretty awesome guest book out of the deal.  I plan on doing something fun with the pix Jeff provided…stay tuned.

Hamming it up with cousin Lee

Hamming it up with cousin Lee

Working technology into the wedding was a little more my speed than picking out cocktail napkins!

One Response to “Technology in the wedding place”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Technology in the wedding place « Chicks Who Click « A Boston Wedding - October 24, 2008

    […] in the wedding place « Chicks Who Click Technology in the wedding place « Chicks Who Click Blogged with the Flock […]

Leave a Reply

